Launch of new Digital Health All-Party Parliamentary Group

New all-party group aims to improve data and digital tech in health services

17th December 2020 about a 1 minute read

Parliament has set up a new All-Party Group (APPG) on digital health. 

Its stated aim is to “stimulate public debate and inform policy making on the use of data and digital technologies in delivering health services, supporting citizens to live healthy lives and supporting the UK economy”.

The group will also connect MPs and peers with the health system, industry, academia, third sector organisations and civil society. 

The chair is Conservative MP for Watford Dean Russell. He is also a member of the Health and Social Care and Science and Technology Committee joint inquiry into lessons learned from the COVID pandemic.

The Digital Health APPG members include Labour peer Lord Hunt of Kings Heath, who, as Phillip Hunt, was the first Chief Executive of the NHS Confederation.

Before that he was Director of the National Association of Health Authorities and Trusts (NAHAT) from its formation in 1990.

Other members are the Conservative MPs Paul Bristow, Saqib Bhatti and Anne Marie Morris.

The group’s secretariat is the Association of British HealthTech Industries and the contact for enquiries is